Back to homepage Blank Blank National Dance Awards
Back to homepage   Press
Back to press release choices
Dance awards
Audience awards
Children's Award
Industry awards
Student Award
Past awards
About us
  2004 National Dance Awards

TV Personality Angela Rippon Comperes Uk's 5th Annual Awards Devoted Exclusively to Dance

Royal Opera House Hosts 39 Finalists from Twelve Nations Competing for Prestigious Awards Marking their Contribution to British Dance

Classical and Contemporary Finalists include Carlos Acosta, The Ballet Boyz, Alina Cojocaru, Adam Cooper, Wayne Mcgregor, Jenny Tattersall, Svetlana Zakharova

On Thursday 20 January 2005, the Royal Opera House hosts the 5th Critics' Circle National Dance Awards, the glittering, annual event at which the classical and contemporary professional dance world celebrate their successes over the past 12 months.

TV personality Angela Rippon OBE, who comperes the glittering lunchtime ceremony, comments: "The National Dance Awards have become an essential feature of the UK's dance calendar, in step with the enormous hunger for dance in this country." The facts speak for themselves: including professional, amateur, community and social dance activities, every year between 600,00 and 1 million children engage in Saturday morning classes; over 1.5 million young people dance for fun every Saturday night; 4.8 million people participate in some 70,000 community dance activities, including workshops, classes and performance projects; 6.5 million people attend 10,000 dance performances; and 15 million people - one-quarter of the UK population - engage with dance artists in one form or other.

Dance is alive and well in Britain. It is also a truly international art form. The star-studded gathering, including British prima ballerina Dame Beryl Grey and Russian star Irek Mukhamedov amongst others, will focus on 39 finalists drawn from the British dance world - artists and Company representatives who have worked in Britain during the past 12 months - whose nationalities are mainly British but include also American, Australian, Brazilian, Chinese, Cuban, Danish, Italian, Rumanian, Russian, Spanish and Venezuelan. Among those competing for the prestigious awards are Carlos Acosta and Alina Cojocaru (The Royal Ballet), Lee Clayden and Jenny Tattersall (Fin Walker Dance), Paul Liburd (Rambert Dance Company/Scottish Ballet), Pippa Moore (Northern Ballet Theatre), Michael Nunn and William Trevitt (George Piper Dances aka The Ballet Boyz), Svetlana Zakharova (Bolshoi Ballet), choreographers Javier de Frutos (independent) and Wayne McGregor (Random Dance Company) and artistic directors Darshan Singh Bhuller (Phoenix Dance Theatre) and Mark Baldwin (Rambert).

Critics' Circle National Dance Awards
List of Finalists 2004

De Valois Award For Outstanding Achievement In Dance
John Ashford
Robert Cohan
Sir Peter Wright

Best Male Dancer
Carlos Acosta
Jonathan Cope
Johan Kobborg

Best Female Dancer
Leanne Benjamin
Alina Cojocaru
Svetlana Zakharova

Best Choreography (Classical)
Alastair Marriott (Being and Having Been)
David Nixon (A Midsummer Night's Dream)
Christopher Wheeldon (Rush)

Best Choroegraphy (Modern)
Javier de Frutos (Elsa Canasta, Milagro)
Russell Maliphant (Broken Fall)
Wayne McGregor (Ataxia)

Best Choreography (Musical Theatre)
Matthew Bourne (Play Without Words)
Adam Cooper (Singin' in the Rain)
William Tuckett (The Soldier's Tale)

Best Foreign Dance Company
Bolshoi Ballet
Merce Cunningham Dance Company
National Ballet of China

Outstanding Male Artist (Classical)
Ricardo Cervera
Jose Odoardo Perez
Thiago Soares

Outstanding Female Artist (Classical)
Lauren Cuthbertson
Pippa Moore
Elisha Willis

Outstanding Male Artist (Modern)
Lee Clayden
Paul Liburd
Fabrice Serafino

Outstanding Female Artist (Modern)
Amy Hollingsworth
Tanya Richam-Odoi
Jenny Tattersall

Company Prize For Outstanding Repertoire (Classical)
Northern Ballet Theatre
Royal Ballet
Scottish Ballet

Company Prize For Outstanding Repertoire (Modern)
George Piper Dances
Phoenix Dance Theatre
Rambert Dance Company

For press and photo opportunities contact:
Jeffery Taylor
0208 998 7136

For TV/Radio contact:
Bobbie Coppen Promotions
01394 283934
07833 365214

Back to top
All text is © copyright of the Critics' Circle / National Dance Awards.