Back to homepage Blank Blank National Dance Awards
Back to homepage   Press
Back to press release choices
Dance awards
Audience awards
Children's Award
Industry awards
Student Award
Past awards
About us

The Eleventh Annual National Dance Awards
Sadler’s Wells, London: 24 January 2011

The Critics’ Circle National Dance Awards took place at Sadler’s Wells, London today, 24th January. Patron of the Awards, Dame Beryl Grey says: “I am delighted that the awards are now entering their second decade and have established an important, permanent and valuable place in the annual dance calendar. They set out to celebrate the richness and variety of dance work presented on stage each year, nurturing innovation and acknowledging excellence. I offer my congratulations to all those dancers and choreographers and companies who have been nominated for awards and now especially to the winners. Your creative energies and remarkable achievements have been justly recognized. Well done.”

2010 Critics’ Circle National Dance Awards

Winners 2010

De Valois Award for Outstanding Achievement

• Jann Parry
Alistair Spalding

Outstanding Female Performance (Classical)

• Martha Leebolt / Northern Ballet

Outstanding Male Performance (Modern)

• Daniel Proietto / Russell Maliphant Company

Best Foreign Dance Company

• The Bolshoi Ballet

Best Classical Choreography

• Liam Scarlett for Asphodel Meadows by the Royal Ballet

Outstanding Female Performance (Modern)

• Pieter Symonds / Rambert Dance Company

Outstanding Male Performance (Classical)

• Vadim Muntagirov / English National Ballet

Best Modern Choreography

• Russell Maliphant for Afterlight in The Spirit of Diaghilev programme at Sadler’s Wells

Jane Attenborough Dance UK Industry Award

• Gill Clarke MBE / Dance Artist

Best Female Dancer

• Natalia Osipova / Bolshoi Ballet

Outstanding Company

• Rambert Dance Company

The Dancing Times Award for Best Male Dancer

• Ivan Vasiliev / Bolshoi Ballet

The Awards celebrate the vigour and variety of Britain’s thriving dance culture and highlight the huge range of dance on offer. They are the only professional awards in the UK dedicated to dance and are presented by the Dance Section of the Critics’ Circle, which brings together more than 50 dance writers. As part of the awards’ unique partnership with Sadler’s Wells and the Royal Opera House, the ceremony alternates between the two venues.

The awards sponsors are: The Monument Trust, Dancing Times; and Dance UK in association with Gordon and Co for the Jane Attenborough Dance UK Industry Award.

For further press information contact: Tony Shepherd on 0207 288 0266 or email:

Back to top
All text is © copyright of the Critics' Circle / National Dance Awards.