Back to homepage Blank Blank National Dance Awards
Back to homepage   Press
Back to press release choices
Dance awards
Audience awards
Children's Award
Industry awards
Student Award
Past awards
About us
  2006 Critics' Circle National
Dance Awards winners

London, Thursday 25 January, 2007

Winners of the 2006 Critics’ Circle National Dance Awards announced today at Sadler’s Wells, London

The stars of the dance world were out in force today to celebrate The 2006 Critics’ Circle National Dance Awards. Hosted by long time supporter of the Awards, Angela Rippon OBE, they were announced at a glittering ceremony at Sadlers Well’s Theatre, London. The Royal Ballet scooped three of the most coveted awards, with Carlos Acosta winning Best Male Dancer, Miyako Yoshida winning Best Female Dancer and Steven McRae winning the Best Emerging Male Artist (classical) Award.

In the other categories, The Bolshoi Ballet was triumphant with Alexei Ratmansky winning Best Choreography Classical for The Bright Stream and the company winning the Best Foreign Dance Company Prize. International choreographer Twyla Tharp claimed the award for Best Choreography Musical Theatre, whilst Javier du Frutos, who has recently won acclaim for his risqué choreography in the West End show Cabaret, saw his company, Phoenix Dance Theatre scoop the Company Prize for Outstanding Repertoire in the modern section, with the classical section award going to Les Ballets Trockadero de Monte Carlo.

Strictly Come Dancing, the BBC’s highly successful dance competition that has taken the country by storm won the Patron’s Award, for considerably furthering the cause of dance in the UK. The award was presented by legendary ballerina Dame Beryl Grey, and collected by Strictly Come Dancing star and professional dancer Anton du Beke.

The Working Title Billy Elliot Award went to two young male dancers this year, Brad Corben from Newton Abbot and Joseph Poulton from Leeds. Chosen from hundreds of applications, real life Billy Elliot performer Colin Bates who is currently appearing in the London production presented the boys with their awards. For the second year running the Audience Award sponsored by went to Northern Ballet Theatre, who jointly won the award with Independent Ballet Wales.

The UK’s dance community and its supporters were out in full force today. These awards hold a special importance for the dance fraternity, since they are voted for by the Critics’ Circle, and to win is a major honour. Upon arrival the stars of the ballet and dance world were treated to special performances by dancers from Strictly Ballroom, the Jiving Lindy Hoppers and children from Britain’s leading dance schools.

Attendees included, renowned ballerina Darcey Bussell, Director of the Royal Ballet, Monica Mason, Arlene Phillips, well known choreographer and Strictly Come Dancing judge, Michael Waldman, director of Ballet Who!, Culture Minister, David Lammy, Chief Executive & Artistic Director of Sadler’s Wells, Alistair Spalding, Executive Director of the ROH, Tony Hall and Strictly Ballroom star, Lionel Blair.

Critics Circle National Dance Awards winners 2006
Patron Dame Beryl Grey DBE

De Valois Award for Outstanding Achievement in Dance
Ivor Guest

Dancing Times Award for Best Male Dancer
Carlos Acosta, for performances with his own company and as a Principal Guest Artist with The Royal Ballet

Richard Sherrington Award for Best Female Dancer
Miyako Yoshida, Royal Ballet

Best Choreography (Classical)
Alexei Ratmansky, for The Bright Stream

Best Choreography (Modern)
Wayne McGregor, for Amu

Best Foreign Dance Company sponsored by Artsworld Presentations
The Bolshoi Ballet, for performances at the Royal Opera House

Emerging Male or Female Artist (Classical)
Steven McRae, The Royal Ballet

Emerging Male or Female Artist (Modern)
Alexander Varona, freelancer dancer

Company Prize for Outstanding Repertoire (Classical)
Les Ballets Trockadero de Monte Carlo

Company Prize for Outstanding Repertoire (Modern)
Phoenix Dance Theatre

Best Choreography (Musical Theatre)
Twyla Tharp

Audience Award supported by
Northern Ballet Theatre and Independent Ballet Wales

Patron’s Award
Strictly Come Dancing

Working Title Billy Elliot Award
Brad Corben and Joseph Poulton

Dance UK Jane Attenborough Industry Award
Val Bourne CBE

For further information including winners biogs, please visit the National Dance Awards website at:

For press information please contact:
Amy Barder at Borkowski 020 7404 3000 / 07917 167786 or

Back to top
All text is © copyright of the Critics' Circle / National Dance Awards.