Back to homepage Blank Blank National Dance Awards
Back to homepage   Press
Back to press release choices
Dance awards
Audience awards
Children's Award
Industry awards
Student Award
Past awards
About us
  The National Dance Awards 2003

TV Star Angela Rippon Hosts The 4th Annual National Dance Awards

Two New Awards Acknowledge The Huge Popularity of Dance in Britain
London, Tuesday January 13, 2004

Angela Rippon plays host to a star studded gathering of the British Dance world on 13 January, 2004, at Sadler's Wells Theatre for the 4th National Dance Awards. Darcey Bussell, principal dancer of the Royal Ballet, Adam Cooper, star of recent hit musical, On Your Toes, and brilliant young stars Tamara Rojo and Alina Cojocaru lead the tributes in Britain's only Awards specifically for Dance.

"In an incredibly short three years," points out Rippon, Vice Chair of English National Ballet, "the National Dance Awards have become an essential feature of the UK's dance calendar, in step with the enormous hunger for dance in this country."

Reflecting this popular demand, the new National Dance Awards Audience Prize, supported by Dance UK, will be presented for the first time to the nation's favourite dancer, voted for exclusively by audiences across the land at the glittering lunchtime ceremony.

The Sunday Express has joined forces with the NDA and sponsored a unique award aimed at the many hundreds of thousands of children in the UK who attend a Saturday morning dance class. The Sunday Express and the National Dance Awards will honour a boy or girl who has achieved a high standard of dancing in the face of unusual difficulties.

Among the nation's dance talent competing for the prestigious Awards are, from the modern dance scene, Kylie Minogue's pop video choreographer, Rafael Bonachela, brilliant young dancers Oxana Panchenko (George Piper Dances), Jenny Tattersal (Fin Walker Dance) and Matthew Dibble (Twyla Tharp Dance Company). And from the world of classical ballet, husband and wife team Desiree Samaai and Jonathan Ollivier (Northern Ballet Theatre), Agnes Oakes and Yosvani Ramos (English National Ballet), Carlos Acosta and Zenaida Yanowsky (Royal Ballet).

For further information and full list of finalists visit:

For press and photo opportunities contact:
Jeffery Taylor
0208 998 7136

For TV/Radio contact:
Bobbie Coppen Promotions
01394 283934
07833 365214

Back to top
All text is © copyright of the Critics' Circle / National Dance Awards.