Back to homepage Blank Blank National Dance Awards
Back to homepage   Press
Back to press release choices
Dance awards
Audience awards
Children's Award
Industry awards
Student Award
Past awards
About us
  The Tenth Annual National Dance Awards
Royal Opera House, London: 21 January 2010

Awards Pictures:   Main gallery, Gallery 2

The Critics’ Circle National Dance Awards took place at the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, London today, 21st January. Patron of the Awards, the legendary ballerina Dame Beryl Grey says: “The tenth anniversary is a true milestone in the history of these prestigious Awards which are the focal point of the UK dance calendar. It has been a monumental achievement to make the event bigger and stronger with each passing year.”

Critics’ Circle National Dance Awards Winners 2009

De Valois Award for Outstanding Achievement
Alexander Grant / Former Royal Ballet Principal and Artistic Director of the National Ballet of Canada (1976-83)

The Dancing Times Award for Best Male Dancer
Paul Liburd / Scottish Ballet

Richard Sherrington Award for Best Female Dancer
Leanne Benjamin / The Royal Ballet

Dance Europe Award for Outstanding Company
Ballet Black

Best Classical Choreography
Wayne McGregor for Infra / The Royal Ballet

Best Modern Choreography
Christopher Bruce for Hush / Rambert Dance Company

PMB Presentations Award For Best Foreign Dance Company
Merce Cunningham Dance Company

Patron's Award
Richard Bonynge / international conductor

Outstanding Female Performance (Classical)
Melissa Hamilton / The Royal Ballet

Outstanding Male Performance (Classical)
Sergei Polunin /The Royal Ballet

Outstanding Female Performance (Modern)
Amy Hollingsworth / freelance

Outstanding Male Performance (Modern)
Thomasin Gulgec / Rambert Dance Company

Angelina Ballerina Children's Award
Lucy Wood / Susan Robinson School of Dance

CDET Student of the Year Award
Sam Chung / Tring Park School for the Performing Arts

Dance UK Industry Award
Marie McCluskey / Artistic Director of Swindon Dance

A full list of dancers, choreographers and companies nominated for National Dance Awards can be found at

The Awards celebrate the vigour and variety of Britain’s thriving dance culture and highlight the huge range of dance on offer. They are the only professional awards in the UK dedicated to dance and are presented by the Dance Section of the Critics’ Circle, which brings together more than 50 dance writers. As part of the awards’ unique partnership with Sadler’s Wells and the Royal Opera House, the ceremony alternates between the two venues.

The awards sponsors are: Yvonne Sherrington in memory of her husband Richard Sherrington, the founder sponsor of the Awards; HIT Entertainment; The Dancing Times; Dance Europe; Dance UK; PMB Presentations; The Council for Dance Education and Training, Tom Merrifield Studios and

For further press information contact: Tony Shepherd on 0207 288 0266 or email:

Back to top
All text is © copyright of the Critics' Circle / National Dance Awards.