Back to homepage Blank Blank National Dance Awards
Back to homepage   Press
Back to press release choices
Dance awards
Audience awards
Children's Award
Industry awards
Student Award
Past awards
About us
  Darcey Bussell Honoured by National Dance Awards

Legendary ballerina Dame Beryl Grey DBE presented the Patron’s Award

Darcey Bussell CBE receiving the Patron's Award from Dame Beryl Grey DBE
More and larger pictures

© John Ross
of the Critics’ Circle National Dance Awards to Darcey Bussell CBE in the Paul Hamlyn Hall of the Royal Opera House at 11.30am on Friday 14 December 2007.

The Patron’s Award is given to an individual or institution that has significantly furthered the cause of dance in the UK. The award is in the personal gift of the National Dance Awards Patron, Dame Beryl Grey.

Last year the Patron’s Award went to BBC’s Strictly Come Dancing and was presented to Bruce Forsyth by Dame Beryl in the presence of the show’s live audience in December 2006. Anton du Beke, Len Goodman and Arlene Phillips subsequently attended the Critics’ Circle National Dance Awards at Sadler’s Wells Theatre.

The next Critics’ Circle National Dance Awards ceremony will take place at 1pm at the Royal Opera House on Tuesday 22 January 2008. The CCNDAs are the only professional awards in the UK exclusively devoted to dance and dancers.

Darcey Bussell, currently touring her latest show Viva La Diva, has been Britain’s favourite ballerina for the last twenty years. She has raised awareness of dance through her performances with The Royal Ballet and through her many public appearances. The Awards Committee and Dame Beryl wish to recognise her talent, her professionalism and her contribution to raising the profile of dance in this country.

Pictures of the event for press use

General information about the 2007 Awards and Nominations is available from:
Press Release on 2007 Finalists - 10 November 2007

Further media information:
Tony Shepherd on 0207 288 0266 / 07956 655813 and at
and via


Back to top
All text is © copyright of the Critics' Circle / National Dance Awards.