Back to homepage Blank Blank National Dance Awards
Back to homepage   Press
Back to press release choices
Dance awards
Audience awards
Children's Award
Industry awards
Student Award
Past awards
About us
  2002 Critics' Circle National
Dance Awards winners

London, Tuesday January 14, 2003

The names of the winners of the 2002 Crities' Circle National Dance Awards were announced today at a glittering ceremony at Sadler's Wells Theatre.

Britain's best loved politician, Baroness Boothroyd, first woman Speaker of the House of Commons, was joned by Patron, Dame Alicia Markova, Sponsor, Yvonne Sherrington and Darcey Bussell, Principal dancer of the Royal Ballet and a host of top names from the world of dance.

Former Tiller Girl Betty Boothroyd compared the event attended by Angela Rippon (Chair, English National Ballet) Tamara Rojo (Royal Ballet) David Bintley (Artistic Director, Birmingham Royal Ballet, award winning choreographer Matthew Bourne and dancers from the two Royal Ballet companies, English National Ballet. Rambert Dance Company. Random Dance, Henri Oguike Dance Company, Arc Dance, Walker Dance and others.

De Valois Award for Oustanding Contribution to Dance: Christopher Bruce (Rambert Dance Co)
Best Male Dancer: Thomas Edur (English National Ballet)
Best Female Dancer: Alina Cojocaru (Royal Ballet)
Best Partnership: Agnes Oaks and Thomas Edur (English National Ballet)
Service to dance: Dame Beryl Grey
Best Choreography (Classical): Christopher Hampson (English National Ballet)
Best Choreography (Modern): Mark Morris (Mark Morris Dance Company)
Outstanding Young Female Dancer (Modern): Joanne Fong (Arc Dance)
Outstanding Young Male Dancer (Modern): Martin Lindinger (Rambert Dance Company)
Outstanding Young Female Dancer (Classical): Marianela Nunez (Royal Ballet)
Outstanding Young Male Dancer (Classical): Ivan Putrov (Royal Ballet)
Company Prize for Outstanding Repertoire (Classical): Birmingham Royal Ballet
Company Prize for Outstanding Repertoire (Modern): Rambert Dance Company
Best Foreign Dance Company: Mark Morris Dance Group (USA)

The Critics' Circle National Dance Awards are sponsored by Yvonne Sherrington in memory or Richard Sherrington
Back to top
All text is © copyright of the Critics' Circle / National Dance Awards.