Back to homepage Blank Blank National Dance Awards
Back to homepage   Press
Back to press release choices
Dance awards
Audience awards
Children's Award
Industry awards
Student Award
Past awards
About us
  The Eighth Annual National Dance Awards
2007 Finalists Announced

“Dance is on a roll”. So says Tony Hall, Chief Executive of the Royal Opera House, which will host the Eighth annual Critics’ Circle National Dance Awards on January 22, 2008. The awards, which once again feature the popular Working Title Billy Elliot Prize for boys aged between 11 and 16, celebrate the vigour and variety of Britain’s thriving dance culture. They are the only professional awards in the UK dedicated specifically to dance, and are presented by the dance section of the Critics’ Circle, which brings together more than 50 dance writers.

This year’s list of finalists showcases the incredible diversity of dance on offer in the UK, along with the art form’s increasing internationalism. Artists from Japan, India, Russia, Ukraine, Brazil, the United States, Spain and France  are among those nominated for performance awards. And for the first time, the Dancing Times Award for Best Male Dancer is not dominated by classical dancers, with both the American tap virtuoso Savion Glover and the British modern dancer Jonathan Goddard on the list.

The Royal Ballet, based at the Royal Opera House, has eight nominations, including performance awards for Sarah Lamb, Zenaida Yanowsky, Ivan Putrov and Martin Harvey. In addition the company is nominated twice in the classical choreography category for Wayne McGregor’s Chroma and Christopher Wheeldon’s DGV, ballets that had their world premiere on the same day.

The American choreographer Mark Morris picks up two nominations, as does the Irish company Fabulous Beast Dance Theatre, while the Bolshoi Ballet, a big winner last year, is nominated in five categories.

The Patron’s Award, to be presented by NDA’s illustrious patron Dame Beryl Grey, has been created to pay tribute to an individual or organisation which has made an outstanding contribution to dance in the past year. The winner of the 2007 Patron’s Award will be announced in early December.

The National Dance Awards were established by the Critics’ Circle in 2000 to highlight the astonishing range of dance on offer in the UK. As part of the awards’ unique partnership with Sadler’s Wells and the Royal Opera House, the ceremony alternates between the two venues. Further information available at

The 2007 awards, with major sponsorship from Thomas Lynch, take place on Tuesday 22 January 2008 at 1pm, at the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, London.

Critics’ Circle National Dance Awards
List of Finalists 2007

Richard Sherrington Award for Best Female Dancer
Sarah Lamb (Royal Ballet)
Natalia Osipova (Bolshoi Ballet)
Zenaida Yanowsky (Royal Ballet)

Dancing Times Award for Best Male Dancer
Savion Glover (New York-based tap dancer)
Jonathan Goddard (Richard Alston Dance Company)
Ivan Putrov  (Royal Ballet)

Best Choreography (Classical)
Wayne McGregor (for Chroma, Royal Ballet)
Alexei Ratmansky (for Le Corsaire, Bolshoi Ballet at the Coliseum)
Christopher Wheeldon (for DGV, Royal Ballet)

Best Choreography (Modern)
Javier De Frutos (for Los Picadores and Paseillo, Phoenix Dance Theatre)
Michael Keegan-Dolan (for The Bull, Fabulous Beast Dance Theatre at the Barbican)
Mark Morris (for Mozart Dances, Mark Morris Dance Group at the Barbican)

Best Foreign Dance Company
The Bolshoi Ballet (for performances at the Coliseum)
Dutch National Ballet (for performances at Sadler’s Wells)
Mark Morris Dance Group (for performances at the Barbican)

Spotlight Award, Female Artist (Modern)
Clara Barbera (Rambert Dance Company)
Sally Marie (Sweetshop Revolution)
Kialea-Nadine Williams (for performances with Phoenix Dance Theatre)

Spotlight Award, Male Artist (Modern)
Colin Dunne (for performances with Fabulous Beast Dance Theatre)
Dane Hurst (for performances with Rambert Dance Company)
Ash Mukherjee (for performances with Srishti)

Spotlight Award, Female Artist (Classical)
Yuhui Choe (Royal Ballet)
Carol-Anne Millar (Birmingham Royal Ballet)
Venus Villa (for performances with English National Ballet)

Spotlight Award, Male Artist (Classical)
James Forbat (English National Ballet)
Martin Harvey (Royal Ballet)
Ivan Vasiliev (Bolshoi Ballet)

Company Prize for Outstanding Repertoire (Modern)
Richard Alston Dance Company
Bonachela Dance Company
Henri Oguike Dance Company

Company Prize for Outstanding Repertoire (Classical)
The Bolshoi Ballet
The Royal Ballet
Scottish Ballet


Further media information:
Tony Shepherd on 0207 288 0266 / 07956 655813 and at

Back to top
All text is © copyright of the Critics' Circle / National Dance Awards.