Back to homepage Blank Blank National Dance Awards
Back to homepage   Press
Back to press release choices
Dance awards
Audience awards
Children's Award
Industry awards
Student Award
Past awards
About us
  Internationally acclaimed ballet star
Carlos Acosta nominated for
Critics’ Circle National Dance Award 2006

Dance has seen a huge revival in its popularity in recent months. Dance schools have been inundated with applications and adult dance classes have never been so popular.
  • Every Saturday between 600,000 and 1 million children attend dance classes in Britain
  • 6,360,000 people attend 10,000 dance performances every year
  • 1.5 million people dance for fun every Saturday night
As a country we are now producing some outstanding home grown talent and with prime-time television shows such as Ballet Changed My Life, Strictly Come Dancing and Strictly Dance Fever, there has never been a better time to celebrate dance.

The National Dance Awards, now in their seventh year, were established by the Critics’ Circle to celebrate and highlight the astonishing diversity of dance and dancers in the UK and worldwide. This year the awards are being hosted by Angela Rippon, OBE at a ceremony on 25 January 2007 at Sadler’s Wells, London.

“Dance is a subject very close to my heart so I am thrilled to be returning to host such a prestigious event. We are extremely lucky to have an abundance of talent in this country and The National Dance Awards do a tremendous amount to raise the profile of dance in all its forms and this is a wonderful opportunity to honour all those involved.”
Angela Rippon OBE

The nominations are being headed by Carlos Acosta, the first black principal of the Royal Ballet, his was the original inspirational rags-to-riches story; inspiring a generation of young male dancers. He defied all expectations to become a star of the classical ballet world. He is dancing the 2006/7 season with the Royal Ballet. Along with Federico Bonelli (Principal with the Royal Ballet) and Johan Kobborg (Principal with the Royal Ballet) Carlos has been nominated for the Dancing Times Best Male Dancer Award.

A good year for The Royal Ballet, not only dominating the Dancing Times Best Male Dancer Award but the Richard Sherrington Award for Best Female Dancer with Alina Cojocaru (Principal), Sarah Lamb (Principal) and Miyako Yoshida (Principal) receiving nominations.

The Birmingham Royal Ballet has triumphed in the nominations this year. They have been nominated again for the Company Prize for Outstanding Repertoire (Classical), and have two nominees in the Emerging Male or Female Artist (Classical) category – Chi Cao, one of the most noteworthy principals in BRB and Tyrone Singleton who trained at Royal Ballet School and Arts Educational and joined BRB in 2003 and is one of the youngest members of the company.

Phoenix Dance Theatre is nominated for the Company Prize for Outstanding Repertoire Modern. Their Artistic Director is Javier De Frutos who has won recent critical acclaim for his risqué choreography in the hit West-End show Cabaret. Also in the category is the Richard Alston Dance Company which is one of London’s most celebrated dance companies.

Once again this year the public will be given an opportunity to voice their opinions by voting for their favourite dance or ballet company they have seen in the past year to receive the Audience Award. Also returning is the Working Title Billy Elliot Award which aims to challenge the stigma attached to boys who dance and applaud the athleticism and pure hard work that brings success in this field.

New for this year, the Patron's Award, presented by NDA Patron and legendary ballerina, Dame Beryl Grey, has been created specifically to pay tribute to the organization which has done most for dance in the past year.

For further press information please contact Amy Barder at Borkowski PR on 020 7404 3000 / 07917 167786 or

To vote for the audience award simply text the name of the company to 07946 702 700 or leave a message on 07946 702 700 telling us the name of the company you want to vote for. Deadline for voting: 31 December 2006

Critics' Circle National Dance Awards
List of Finalists 2006

Dancing Times Award for Best Male Dancer
Carlos Acosta (for performances as Principal Guest Artist with The Royal Ballet)
Federico Bonelli (for performances as Principal with The Royal Ballet)
Johan Kobborg (for performances as Principal with The Royal Ballet)

Richard Sherrington Award for Best Female
Alina Cojocaru (for performances as Principal with The Royal Ballet)
Sarah Lamb (for performances as Principal with The Royal Ballet)
Miyako Yoshida (for performances as Principal with The Royal Ballet)

Best Choreography (Classical)
Alastair Marriott (for Tanglewood at the Royal Ballet)
Alexei Ratmansky (for Bolshoi Ballet’s The Bright Stream at the ROH)
Will Tuckett (for The Canterville Ghost at the New Wimbledon Theatre)

Best Choroegraphy (Modern)
Michael Keegan-Dolan (for Fabulous Beast’s The Flowerbed at the Barbican Pit)
Wayne McGregor (for Random Dance’s Amu at Sadler’s Wells)
Fin Walker (for Richochet Dance Productions Man & Woman)

Best Foreign Dance Company sponsored by Artsworld Presentations
The Bolshoi Ballet (for performances at the Royal Opera House)
National Ballet of Cuba (for performances at Sadler’s Wells)
Tango por Dos (for performances at the Peacock Theatre)

Emerging Male or Female Artist (Classical)
Chi Cao (for performances as a Principal with Birmingham Royal Ballet)
Steven McRae (for performances as a Soloist with The Royal Ballet)
Tyrone Singleton (for performances as a First Artist with Birmingham Royal Ballet)

Emerging Male or Female Artist (Modern)
Dane Hurst (for performances as a dancer with Rambert Dance Company)
Alexander Varona (for performances as a freelance dancer)
Jennifer White (for performances as a dancer with Diversions, the Dance Company of Wales)

Company Prize For Outstanding Repertoire (Classical)
Birmingham Royal Ballet
Les Ballets Trockadero de Monte Carlo
Scottish Ballet

Company Prize For Outstanding Repertoire (Modern)
Richard Alston Dance Company
Phoenix Dance Theatre


Back to top
All text is © copyright of the Critics' Circle / National Dance Awards.