Back to homepage Blank Blank National Dance Awards
Back to homepage   Past awards
Back to past awards
Dance awards
Audience awards
Children's Award
Industry awards
Student Award
Past awards
About us
  2009 Awards

2009 Critics' Circle National Dance Awards
The Awards ceremony was held on the 21 January 2010
at the Royal Opera House, London

2009 Awards Press Release

Pictures of the 2009 Awards Ceremony

De Valois Award for Outstanding Achievement in Dance
Alexander Grant / Former Royal Ballet Principal and Artistic Director of the National Ballet of Canada (1976-83)

Best Male Dancer
Paul Liburd / Scottish Ballet

Best Female Dancer
Leanne Benjamin / The Royal Ballet

Outstanding Company
Ballet Black

Best Choreography (Classical)
Wayne McGregor for Infra / The Royal Ballet

Best Choreography (Modern)
Christopher Bruce for Hush / Rambert Dance Company

Best Foreign Dance Company
Merce Cunningham Dance Company

Outstanding Female Performance (Modern)
Amy Hollingsworth / freelance

Outstanding Male Performance (Modern)
Thomasin Gulgec / Rambert Dance Company

Outstanding Female Performance (Classical)
Melissa Hamilton / The Royal Ballet

Outstanding Male Performance (Classical)
Sergei Polunin / The Royal Ballet

Patron's Award
Richard Bonynge / international conductor

Angelina Ballerina Children's Award
Lucy Wood / Susan Robinson School of Dance

CDET Student of the Year Award
Sam Chung / Tring Park School for the Performing Arts

Dance UK Jane Attenborough Industry Award
Marie McCluskey / Artistic Director of Swindon Dance

Back to top
All text is © copyright of the Critics' Circle / National Dance Awards.