Back to homepage Blank Blank National Dance Awards
Back to homepage   Past awards
Back to past awards
Dance awards
Audience awards
Children's Award
Industry awards
Student Award
Past awards
About us
  2006 Awards

2006 Critics' Circle National Dance Awards
The Awards ceremony was held on the 25 January 2007
at Sadler's Wells Theatre, London

2006 Awards Press Release

Pictures of the 2006 Awards Ceremony

De Valois Award for Outstanding Achievement in Dance
Ivor Guest, Dance historian and writer

Best Male Dancer
Carlos Acosta, for performances with his own company and The Royal Ballet

Best Female Dancer
Miyako Yoshida , for performances as a Principal of The Royal Ballet

Best Choreography (Classical)
Alexei Ratmansky, for The Bright Stream

Best Choreography (Modern)
Wayne McGregor, for Amu

Best Foreign Dance Company
The Bolshoi Ballet, for performances at the Royal Opera House

Emerging Male or Female Artist (Clasical)
Steven McRae, The Royal Ballet

Emerging Male or Female Artist (Modern)
Alexander Varona, freelancer dancer

Company Prize for Outstanding Repertoire (Classical)
Les Ballets Trockadero de Monte Carlo

Company Prize for Outstanding Repertoire (Modern)
Phoenix Dance Theatre

Best Choreography (Musical Theatre)
Twyla Tharp

Audience Award
Northern Ballet Theatre & Independent Ballet Wales

Patron's Award
Strictly Come Dancing

Working Title Billy Elliot Award
Brad Corben & Joseph Poulton

Dance UK Jane Attenborough Industry Award
Val Bourne CBE

Back to top
All text is © copyright of the Critics' Circle / National Dance Awards.