Back to homepage Blank Blank National Dance Awards
Back to homepage   Industry awards
for the year 2009
Dance awards
Audience awards
Children's Award
Industry awards
Student Award
Past awards
About us
  2009 Jane Attenborough Dance UK Industry Award

21.1.2010 Stop Press

Marie McCluskey, Director of Swindon Dance, is the winner of the 2009 Jane Attenborough Dance UK Industry Award. (press release)

Nominations now open for the 2009

Jane Attenborough Dance UK Dance Industry Award

Closing date for nominations: 9am, 14 December 2009

Nominations are open for the 2009 Jane Attenborough Dance UK Industry Award, which honours an individual working in dance who has made an outstanding contribution to the art form. The award aims to highlight the important, but often unacknowledged, contributions made by individuals that make a real difference to how dance is created, supported and seen. The winner will be announced at the 2009 National Dance Awards on 21 January 2010 at the Royal Opera House in London.

Nominees should be individuals who have gone above and beyond the call of duty to move dance forward and enable the art form to thrive. The person could be a dance manager, designer, teacher, critic – in fact anyone – who, through their knowledge, skill and generosity, has made a significant contribution to dance beyond the scope of their usual role. People who have been nominated in previous years but have not won can be re-nominated.

Previous winners of the Jane Attenborough Dance UK Industry Award include Dick Matchett MBE (2003) Arts Consultant, Theresa Beattie (2004) Arts Consultant, Brendan Keaney (2005) Director of Greenwich Dance Agency, Val Bourne CBE (2006) Founding Director of Dance Umbrella, Celeste Dandeker OBE, the founding Artistic Director of CandoCo (2007) and Janet Smith, Artistic Director of Scottish Dance Theatre (2008).

Last year’s winner, Janet Smith said about receiving the Jane Attenborough Dance UK Industry Award: "I cannot imagine a greater honour than the recognition and appreciation from peers and colleagues in the field that this prestigious award represents and I am both delighted and humbled to be chosen as this year's recipient."

How to make a nomination:

  • Nominations for the award should be sent c/o Kate Achilles, Dance UK, Finsbury Town Hall, Rosebery Avenue, London EC1R 4QT, or via email to
  • All nominations must be received by 9am on Monday 14 December 2009.
  • Please include the name of the person nominated, along with a statement of no more than 200 words explaining why this person should win the award.
  • Please include your own name and contact details.
  • Please state where the person nominated is based and how he or she can be contacted.
The Dance UK Industry Award is dedicated to, and named after, Jane Attenborough, founding Director of Dance UK, the national body representing the dance industry, from dancers and teachers, to major dance companies and theatres.

For further press information please contact Caroline Miller or Emily Eades on 020 7713 0730 or email /

The Industry Award is supported by:
Back to top
All text is © copyright of the Critics' Circle / National Dance Awards.