Back to homepage Blank Blank National Dance Awards
Back to homepage   Industry awards
for the year 2007
Dance awards
Audience awards
Children's Award
Industry awards
Student Award
Past awards
About us
  2006 Jane Attenborough Dance UK Industry Award

22.1.2008 Stop Press

Celeste Dandeker is the winner of the 2007 Industry Award. Celeste was co founder of the highly successful Candoco.

Voting is now open for the 2007 Jane Attenborough Dance UK Industry Award which honours an individual working in dance who has made an outstanding contribution to the art form. The award was founded in 2003 and aims to highlight the important but often unacknowledged contributions made by individuals that make a real difference to how dance is created, supported and seen.

Nominations for the award can be made by anybody in the dance industry or from the public. Nominees should be individuals who have gone above and beyond the call of duty to move dance forward and enable the art form to thrive. The person could be a dance manager, a designer, a teacher, a critic - in fact anyone - who, through their knowledge, skill and generosity, has made a significant contribution to dance beyond the scope of their usual role. People who have been nominated in previous years but have not won can be re-nominated.

Previous winners include Dick Matchett (2004) Arts Consultant, Theresa Beattie (2003) Arts Consultant, Brendan Keaney (2005) Director of Greenwich Dance Agency, and Val Bourne (2006) founding Director of Dance Umbrella.

The nominations will be considered by a panel who will decide upon the shortlist and the winner. The award will be announced as part of the Critics’ Circle National Dance Awards at the Royal Opera House, London, on 22 January 2008.

Nominations for the award should be sent to:
Dance UK Industry Award,
c/o Sian McAulay,
Dance UK,
Old Finsbury Town Hall,
Rosebery Ave,
London EC1R 4QT

Or via email to

Please include the name of the person nominated, along with a statement of no more than 200 words explaining why this person should win the award. Please also state where the person is based or how he or she can be contacted. Due to the scope of this award, only nominations for individuals working within the dance industry can be accepted.

All nominations must be received by 4pm on Friday 14 December 2007.

The Industry Award is named in memory of Jane Attenborough, the Director of Dance UK from 1985 – 2000, who sadly died in 2004. Jane was a highly respected figure in the dance community whose hard work and commitment reflected the ethos of the Industry Award.

The Industry Award is supported by:
Back to top
All text is © copyright of the Critics' Circle / National Dance Awards.