Back to homepage Blank Blank National Dance Awards
Back to homepage  

Dance awards
Audience awards
Children's Award
Industry awards
Student Award
Past awards
About us
  19.1.2006 Stop Press
Thirteen year old Kristopher Spencer is the winner of this years Working Title Billy Elliot Prize. Pictures and further details to follow shortly.

Why is it OK for a boy to be involved in sport at school but not dance when the skill and training are identical. Is it that dance expresses emotions that boys are taught are unmanly? The more you think about it the less sense it makes!

So 'Billy Elliot the Musical' has joined with the Critics Circle National Dance Awards to dispel forever this ridiculous prejudice by creating a very special opportunity for boys aged 11 - 16 years who dance.

During our search for the next 'Billy Elliot's' we discovered the high standard of dance in Britain and the incredible interest dance now has for boys! We and the British dance world vigorously challenge the stigma attached to boys who dance and focus on the athleticism and pure hard work that brings success in this field. Extreme physical demands plus acute emotional awareness makes dance a tough path for anyone to follow. We are therefore delighted to offer this chance of recognition for one supremely talented boy.

Anyone can nominate a boy aged 11-16 for this prestigious competition, the National Dance Awards - Working Title Billy Elliot Prize. All you have to do is prepare a 3 - 5 minute VHS tape that portrays his excellence in dance.

The tapes should be sent to:
"Dance Awards",
Billy London Ltd,
140, Wardour Street,
London W1F 8ZT

Please include the entrants name, address, contact telephone numbers and details of dance school and teachers.

The final date for submissions is 9th December 2005. We cannot return tapes. The winner will be invited to attend a ceremony in the Floral Hall, The Royal Opera House, on 19th January 2006. The winner will be notified by 10th January 2006.


Back to top
All text is © copyright of the Critics' Circle / National Dance Awards.